Responsive image

Snow Blower Safety

Before starting the engine for the first time each season, operators should note general safety and maintenance tips for snow blowers and thoroughly review the operator’s manual. Snow removal from driveways and sidewalks can be quick and efficient when the operator knows how to approach it safely and with consideration. Here are a few easy steps to keep snow blowing efficient and safe.

Responsive image

1. Review safe operating practices before each snow season.

As with any type of power equipment, carelessness or error on the part of the operator can result in serious injury. The operator’s manual includes an Important Safe Operation Practices section which contains information regarding training, preparation and operation of the snow blower. This section of the manual also provides important safe practice information as it relates to maintenance, storage, and safe handling of gasoline, along with an explanation of the on-product safety symbols. These safe operation practices should be reviewed and followed throughout each snow season.

2. Know which way the wind is blowing.

Always blow snow with the wind, never against it. Implementing this practice will ensure safe visibility of what is in front of the operator and can prevent needing to do the same areas over again. Wind directions can change so be sure to adjust the approach accordingly.

3. Plan in advance where the snow is to be accumulated.

High accumulations can present safety issues, so plan accordingly to avoid any problems.

  • Take into account the need to see street traffic and avoid mounding snow at the end of any driveway or walkway. Consider blowing snow to other parts of the yard to prevent any sight obstructions.
  • Be careful not to mound snow against or near a house or building. This could lead to foundation flooding problems when the spring season arrives.
  • Take into consideration the weight of the snow as it begins to accumulate, avoid blowing large amounts of snow on structures or shrubs.
  • Do not to blow snow directly at buildings or vehicles. Snow blowers can pick up and throw foreign objects, such as rocks, causing property damage.
  • Always keep children in mind as snow accumulates. Large mounds of snow near the street or sidewalk are potentially dangerous, especially to small children. Small children can become trapped or fall into, or fall from, large mounds of snow toward oncoming traffic and other potential dangers. Large mounds of snow can also obstruct a person’s view of children walking on sidewalks or across driveways.
Responsive image

4. Decide on a pattern to clear snow.

The best pattern should be determined by wind speed, direction, and the moisture content of the snow. Keep in mind that the goal is to blow the snow only once to the desired location.

  • Avoid blowing snow onto an area that also needs to be cleared, especially if the moisture content is high.
  • Adjust the chute direction and chute angle often to ensure the snow is directed toward the desired location with every pass.

Utilisation en toute sécurité des souffleuses à neige

Au début de chaque hiver, les utilisateurs doivent lire attentivement les instructions du manuel d’utilisation et les conseils de sécurité et d’entretien avant d’utiliser la souffleuse. Ils pourront déblayer la neige plus rapidement et efficacement lorsqu’ils savent utiliser leur appareil en toute sécurité. Déblayez plus efficacement en toute sécurité en suivant ces conseils :

Responsive image

1. Consulter les consignes de sécurité de la souffleuse au début de la saison hivernale

Comme pour tout type d’équipement motorisé, la négligence ou une erreur de la part de l’utilisateur peut entraîner de blessures graves ou fatales. Le chapitre Consignes de sécurité importantes du manuel d’utilisation comprend de l’information sur la préparation de l’appareil, son utilisation et la formation de l’utilisateur. Il couvre aussi l’entretien et l’entreposage de votre appareil ainsi que la manipulation en toute sécurité de l’essence. Les symboles de sécurité figurant sur l’appareil sont décrits dans ce chapitre. Il est important de relire ces consignes de sécurité et de les respecter.

2. Déterminer la direction du vent

Projetez la neige dans la même direction que le vent, jamais dans la direction opposée. En projetant la neige de cette façon, vous pouvez voir devant vous et vous n’aurez pas à déblayer les zones déjà déneigées. La direction du vent peut changer pendant que vous déneigez. Adaptez votre parcours en conséquence.

3. Où projeter la neige ?

Il faut faire attention car la neige accumulée peut causer des problèmes.

  • Avant d’accumuler la neige au bout de l’entrée, tenez compte du fait que votre voisin et vous devez pouvoir voir la circulation de la rue. Projetez la neige à un autre endroit pour ne pas obstruer la vue.
  • Évitez d’empiler la neige contre votre maison, car cela pourrait causer des problèmes d’inondation des fondations au printemps.
  • Évitez de projeter la neige sur des structures or des plantes en raison du poids de la neige accumulée.
  • Ne projetez pas la neige sur des bâtiments ou des véhicules. Les souffleuses peuvent aspirer des objets, comme des pierres, et les projeter, ce qui peut causer des dommages.
  • Faites attention aux enfants. Les accumulations de neige près des trottoirs et des rues peuvent être dangereuses, surtout pour les petits enfants. Ils peuvent tomber dans ces tas de neige ou glisser vers la rue. Des grands bancs de neige pourraient aussi vous empêcher de voir les enfants se trouvant sur le trottoir ou dans l’entrée.
Responsive image

4. Établir le plan du déneigement

Le meilleur plan est défini en fonction de la vitesse et de la direction du vent ainsi que du taux d’humidité de la neige. N’oubliez pas que votre but est de projeter la neige qu’une seule fois.

  • Ne projetez pas la neige vers une zone à être déblayée.
  • Réglez souvent la direction de la goulotte et sa hauteur pendant que vous déblayez la neige pour qu’elle soit projetée vers l’endroit voulu à chaque passage.